This page is under construction. Updated page is coming soon!
Learn about how the Legislature’s actions can impact you.
Every other year, the Nevada State Legislature meets to make new laws, change existing ones, and determine how Nevada will fund state programs. For example, Senate Joint Resolution 6 of the 2013 Legislative Session proposes to change the Millennium Scholarship. You can read more about it here http://leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Reports/history.cfm?ID=313
Track a Bill
Actions taken on a bill will be listed at the bottom of the bill’s page. Sometimes it is hard to check on the bill’s status each day. During the Nevada legislative session, you can get email updates as actions are taken on bills that interest you. To sign up for these email updates, go to https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/PLT/A. Click on Register and follow the instructions to create a new account. Once you have created an account, you will enter the bills you want to track.
Nevada Youth Legislature
<Insert picture of Nevada Youth Legislature>
Twenty-one high school students from across Nevada are appointed to the Nevada Youth Legislature. They meet regularly to review issues important to Nevada’s youth, hold public hearings, conduct public outreach, and submit a report to the State Legislature. To find out more, go to http://leg.state.nv.us/Senate/NVYouthLegislature/
Find a Law
Most of Nevada’s laws referring to education are between NRS Chapters 385 and 400.For example, there is a law that states that the boards of trustees of school districts must provide at least 180 days of school a year.On the Nevada State Legislature’s website, can you findSection 1 of NRS 388.090 where it states this?
Go to website: http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-388.html
NRS 388.090 Minimum number of days of school; application for alternative schedule; application for reduction in minutes or additional minutes; scheduling for closure because of natural disaster, inclement weather or accident.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, boards of trustees of school districts shall schedule and provide a minimum of 180 days of free school in the districts under their charge.